- Contact Us
- Phone : +33 (0)1 44 63 14 18
Despite changes made at the end of the 17th century, the Palace of Tau still contains rooms in the medieval style, such as the 13th century Palatine Chapel and the Tau Room. The walls are decorated with 15th-century tapestries which tell the story of the Mighty King Clovis.
Dating from the 16th century, The Palace of Tau takes its name from its plan, which resembles the shape of the letter T (tau in Greek). Its construction resulted from the conversion of the remains of a large Gallo-Roman villa. The transformation of the building into a Gothic structure was completed in 1710, and it became a location for Kings of France to reside and prepare themselves before their coronation in Reims Cathedral. The palace houses a large banquet room, called the Salle du Tau, which dates back to medieval times and hosts a huge 15th century fireplace.
Visitors can also enjoy the Musée de l’Œuvre within the palace itself. Managed since 1972 by the Centre des monuments nationaux, the palace houses statuary from the cathedral and two safety vaults containing reliquaries with valuable items from French kings, such as chalices, the Talisman of Charlemagne (Charles the Great), and many other objects associated with coronation.
The Palace of Tau is classified as a World Heritage site by UNESCO.
May 6 - September 8: 9:30am - 6:30pm
September 9 - May 5: 9:30am - 12:30pm, 2pm - 5pm
Ticket sales stop 30 minutes before closing time.
January 1, May 1, November 1, November 11 and December 25.